• New in Print - Classical Masterpieces for Banjo

    Classical Masterpieces for Banjo

    FENTON, MO. — Mel Bay Publications, Inc. has announced the publication of Classical Masterpieces for Banjo, by Claudio Parravicini.

    If you've ever felt compelled to play Flight of the Bumblebee on the 5-string banjo, this is the book for you!

    Challenging banjo transcriptions of classical masterpieces may seem like a humorous anachronism to some, but not for Italian master Claudio Parravicini, a conservatory graduate who, while majoring in French horn, always believed that the banjo was "a virtuoso instrument capable of enriching any musical genre."

    In the author's words, "I chose the classical pieces in this book on the basis of how they might advance right and left-hand banjo technique and even refine the player’s musical sensibility... Some pieces, like "Flight of the Bumblebee" will challenge your ability to play rapidly, while others like Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata," are much slower, but will test your musical abilities in other ways."

    The other pieces in the book are: "Prelude No. 2 in C minor" and Inventions No. 4 and No. 6 by J. S. Bach, "Flight of the Bumblebee," by Korsakov, "Perpetual Motion" and "Carnival of Venice" by Paganini, and "Toccata for Piano or Harpsichord" by Paradisi.

    Classical Masterpieces for Banjo is written in tablature only in standard G tuning [gDGBD] using three-finger banjo technique in the traditional, melodic and single-string style. Each selection is guaranteed to further your technique and delight your audience, or simply expand your vision of what is possible on the 5-string banjo.


    • Prelude No. 2 in C minor by J. S. Bach
    • Flight of the Bumblebee by Rimsky Korsakov
    • Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven
    • Invention No. 4 in D minor by J. S. Bach
    • Carnival of Venice by Paganini
    • Invention No. 6 by J. S. Bach
    • Toccata for Piano or Harpsichord by Paradisi
    • Perpetual Motion by Paganini

    Additional Information